30-Day Age Limit for Nebraska Safe-Haven Law Advances
November 19, 2008 - 12:24 PMA 30-day age limit in the Nebraska safe-haven law appears headed for final approval.
The state Legislature voted 41-6 Wednesday to give second-round approval to the limit. A final vote is expected on Friday and then the bill will go to Gov. Dave Heineman. He has said he would support a 30-day age limit.
Every state has a safe-haven law meant to protect newborns from being dumped in trash bins and worse, but Nebraska's is the only one that lacks an age limit.
Most of the children dropped off at Nebraska hospitals since the law took effect in July have been preteens or teenagers as old as 17.
A 15-year-old girl was left at a hospital by a relative, making her the 35th child abandoned under the law, state officials said Wednesday.
The girl, who lives in Nebraska, was dropped off Tuesday at a hospital in Grand Island. She was placed in a foster home. Further details were not immediately released.
(Copyright 2008 Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)